D. Jean Hutchinson is a Professor of Geological Engineering at Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada, and served as the Head of Department between 2009 and 2017. A registered Professional Engineer in Ontario, Jean conducts research on the assessment and mitigation of geomechanics risks related to rock slopes and ground surface subsidence, with a view to developing decision support systems founded on data collected from a variety of collection and monitoring techniques, always considering geological models and mechanics. Jean advocates for and participates in experiential learning including field-based education, and the promotion of inclusivity and diversity in STEM subjects.

Dr. Hutchinson is the Vice President for North America for the IAEG (2019 to 2023), is a member of the Board for the Canadian Foundation for Geotechnique, is Past Chair of the Women in Mining Trailblazer Award Committee and is a member of the Robert L. Schuster Medal selection committee.

Jean has had the great pleasure to supervise over 30 graduate students, and to teach a wide variety of courses to several 1000s of undergraduate students. Dr. Hutchinson in collaboration with her students, as well as numerous research partners, has published 1 book, 9 book chapters, 50+ refereed journal papers, 90 full length refereed conference papers and 80 extended abstracts / non-refereed conference papers.

Dr. Hutchinson has been very fortunate to receive a number of awards, including most recently the Glossop Medal and Lecture from the Geological Society of the UK in 2019, the Canadian Pacific Railway Medal from the Engineering Institute of Canada (2017), the T. Geoffrey Flynn Advancement Champion Award from Queen’s University (2017), the inaugural Excellence in Engineering Education award, from the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science at Queen’s University (2016) and the Robert L. Schuster Medal, jointly awarded by the American Association of Environmental & Engineering Geologists and the Canadian Geotechnical Society (2016). Jean was also pleased to be named as one of 12 “First Women in Canadian Geotechnique”, by the Canadian Geotechnical Heritage Committee in 2018.