Reşat Ulusay, born in 1952 in İzmir, Turkey, received BSc, MSc and PhD degrees on engineering geology from the Geological Engineering Departments at Hacettepe University and Middle East Technical University (METU) in Ankara in 1975 and 1991, respectively.

His main research activities are concentrated on engineering geology, rock mechanics and soil mechanics; particularly on slope stability, rock mass characterization and classification, laboratory and in-situ geotechanical testing, geo-engineering at historical sites, earthquake-induced ground deformations, attenuation relationships and swelling.

Between 1975 and December 1995, he worked at the Mineral Research and Exploration Institute (MTA) of Turkey. During this period, he was trained on mining geotechnology by Golder and Hoek Associates in UK and assigned to establish the Rock and Soil Mechanics Division and Laboratories in MTA under the auspices of the UN and was involved in a number of geotechnical projects as senior engineer, Division Chief and Deputy Head of the Department. He became Associate Professor in 1994. Between December 1995 and 1 September 2019 he worked at the Applied Geology Division of the Geological Engineering Department at Hacettepe University. He became full Professor in 2000. He has also been a part-time instructor in METU between 1992 and 2015. He supervised 21 MSc and 13 PhD theses and retired on 1September 2019.

He is the author and/or co-author of about 300 papers, four technical books (Turkish) on rock mechanics and geotechnics, two dictionaries on geo-engineering and rock mechanics, and the Co-editor and Editor of the ISRM Blue Book and Orange Book, respectively. He is the Editor-in-Chief of “Bulletin of Engineering Geology & the Environment” and the Ex-Officio Executive Committee Member of IAEG since January 2019.

He is the President of ISRM Commission on Testing Methods and member of ISRM Design Methodology Commission since 2006 and 2008, respectively. He was awarded by ISRM as “Lifetime ISRM Fellow” in 2015 in recognition his outstanding accomplishments in rock mechanics and his contribution to the professional community and “2016 Hans Cloos Medal” of IAEG was conferred to him for his contribution to the development of engineering geology. He is currently the ISRM President for the term 2019-2023. He also acted as President of the Turkish Society of Engineering Geology and member of Turkish Earthquake Advisory Board.